top of page

Listen, Learn, Read, Eat - Edition 5

It has been awhile since our last edition of Listen, Learn, Read, Eat! In this post, I’m sharing about four things in my life that are either teaching me something or bringing me joy.


Listen: Your Career Story Podcast

I’m on the hunt to secure a full time job after graduation in May. As I tweak my resume and perfect my portfolio, I have been exploring new podcasts about job hunting, resume building and interviewing. I found this one and have listened to every single episode. There are great tips for your next interview as well as information about the enneagram’s role in the workplace. Even if you’re not on the job hunt, this podcast is a great one to listen to!


Learn: There’s a difference between being “good” stressed and “bad” stressed

Who else out there tends to overcommit themself every chance they get? If you’re like me, the thought of being bored scares you. I can honestly say that I don’t think I’ve felt the sense of boredom since junior high. I love filling my schedule and always having something to do, but this semester has taught me what it is like to feel stressed - in a good way. I usually have more commitments taking up my time in the fall semester. Throughout college I’ve felt myself get overly anxious during these semesters and easily overwhelmed by the dooming amount of work hanging out in my to-do list. I tend to become “bad stressed” during these times because I allow myself to take on too much, and then I don’t plan adequate time to disengage and do something I enjoy. On the flip side, this semester I am definitely the good kind of stressed. Sure, I have a full schedule between working during the day and taking classes at night, but I’m making time to do the things that fill me back up, which leads to a good level of stress. In my opinion, good stress enables you to prioritize your work. It provides a sense of drive and limits procrastination because you frankly don’t have time to procrastinate. The challenge here is to maintain the level of commitment that feels good before it all becomes too much and it is difficult to find joy in the overwhelm.


Read: Body Love by Kelly Leveque

It’s still New Years resolution season, and that means that pretty much all of the general population wants to “get healthier.” We all claim that we are going to fit in more cardio and say no to that impromptu Chick-fil-a invite, but who are we kidding, that’s never going to happen. However, I have been interested in figuring out how to make my smoothies healthier and more of a filling all-in-one breakfast. My friend Miranda let me borrow her copy of Body Love to learn more about nutritionist Kelly Leveque’s “Fab4 Formula.” Basically it is a method (not a diet) of balancing your blood sugar by incorporating healthy amounts of protein, fat, fiber and greens into every meal. I’m still in the process of reading so one, but so far I’m loving it and have been learning so much about nutrition.


Eat: Aidells Chicken Meatballs

I’m really bad about going grocery shopping on an empty stomach. When this happens I usually end up buying things I don’t actually like and then regretting it later. However, on one specific occasion, I was shopping for ingredients to use for cheese fondue and I found these meatballs and they are LIFE CHANGING. Seriously, so good. My personal favorite flavor is the Spicy Mango and Jalapeno, paired with brown rice and broccoli on the side. There are multiple other flavors though and I think other products, too. So far I have only seen them at Hy-Vee but I’m sure they’re sold elsewhere as well!


Thanks for tuning into this edition of Listen, Learn, Read, Eat! Let us know in the comments what you have been enjoying lately, we would love some fresh ideas!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
longlogopainttransparent.png
bottom of page